Review: Deceptive Innocence: Part 1 (Pure Sin #1.1) by Kyra Davis

Initial reaction: I liked this story quite a bit. The heroine has a strong voice and motivation. The sensuality and tension radiates off the page and I found it hard to put down. I’m reading this as part of the full novel but I will review this individual section here.

Full review: Quick reflection for a quick read. This is the second serial series I’ve read from Kyra Davis (the first one compiled in the work “Just One Night”), and this started off with an intrigue I couldn’t resist. Most would know my love for works like “The Count of Monte Cristo” (one of my favorite books) and TV series like “Revenge” (an alternate adaptation of the aforementioned work), so when I heard about a woman who’s bent on getting revenge against a family that wrongly accused her mother of a crime she didn’t commit (murder), I knew I was in for the whole ride.

Even more when I realized this was erotic suspense. I certainly wasn’t disappointed with this first installment into the series. It showcases the plight of Bell very well, working as a bartender while targeting Jonathon Gable, a member of the infamous and wealthy Gable family. The two leads have an undeniable chemistry – both in dialogue, personal and professional demeanor, as well as sexual dynamics. Davis’s writing is vivid, electric, and compulsively readable. The writing here showcases her characters with levels of compilation that ramp up the respective tension as Bell seeks to infiltrate the ranks of the Gable family and use their weaknesses to her own manipulative means. This particular story ends on a nice cliffhanger that I somewhat expected would happen, but not as soon as it did. It definitely held my attention through the entire read, and I’m eager to read more.

Overall score: 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

