Crunching the Numbers: Examining a Reading Life from 2010 to 2016

Hi all, Rose here,

This is a bit of a random post that had me thinking since I was browsing through my Goodreads account of all the books I tracked (some years I was spot on for logging them all in, but the last couple of years have made me a busy bee and I’m sure I left off books I did end up reading, just not sure of the date read).  I saw that I could tweak the date to look at the usual infographic of your shelf (longest book read, most popular book, average book rating for the year, etc.) and thought I’d do a post that chronicles some of those statistics over the six years I’ve been a member of Goodreads. Some of these may be repeated statistics I’ve featured in previous year in review entries, but I figure this puts it all in one places and severs as a marker log.

Wait…I’ve been a member THAT long?  And I’ve been book blogging for HOW long? Man, time’s flown by.

I’ve been a blogger for almost ten years (anniversary coming up in February).  It definitely feels like a long time at a hobby that’s taken me through many cycles, first as a media blog where I reviewed music (including Japanese/Korean pop, some entries of which are still in my very early submissions on this blog, others which I reposted, but most are in archive), TV shows I watched (including anime), movies, among other media.  Then I transitioned to writing book reviews more and details about the writing life and the rest – as they say – is history.  Time has definitely kept me on my toes, especially in the past few years, but definitely being part of the reading life, writing life, and blogging life has been rewarding to me, and I plan on sticking around for even longer.  I’m not making a resolutions/goals list this year since it’s basically verbatim what I noted last year (though my reading goal is 250 books this year), but I hope to be blogging and reading more often this year than the last. 2016 had life occupying me far more than I expected, and some goals I accomplished, others had to be put on the wayside.  I figure I’d make the most of this year, returning to roots and carving out time in better ways to manage it all.

Reflections aside, here are my reading year statistics from 2010-16:

2010

Longest book: 845 pages (“The Passage” by Justin Cronin)

Shortest book: 27 pages (“Power Study” by Maria V. Snyder)

Total # of books read: 127

Average book length: 288 pages

Average review rating: 3.2 stars

5 random books I rated 5 stars: (not really random because I only had 5 books 😀 Most of my reads that year were 3 and 4 star reads.)

  1. “Bet Me” by Jennifer Crusie
  2. “On Writing” by Stephen King
  3. “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” by Sherman Alexie
  4. “Garner on Language and Writing” by Bryan A. Gardner
  5. “Core Connection” by Chris Robinson

5 random books I rated 3-stars:

  1. “A Certain Slant of Light” by Laura Whitcomb
  2. “The Law of Dreams” by Peter Behrens
  3. “The Ice Queen” by Alice Hoffman
  4. “Good as Lily” by Derek Kirk Kim
  5. “The Free Lunch” by Spider Robinson

3 random books I rated 1-star: (Yeah, there were only 3 that entire year. Lucky.)

  1. “Miss Understanding” by Stephanie Lessing
  2. “Ask Me Anything” by Francesca Delbaco
  3. “Lone Star Surrender” by Lisa Renee Jones (I completely forgot she wrote this book)

2011

Longest book: 599 pages (“Feed” by Mira Grant)

Shortest book: 24 pages (“Write NOW” by Francine Saint Marie)

Total # of books read: 155

Average book length: 263 pages

Average review rating: 3.5 stars

5 random books I rated 5 stars:

  1. “Breathing Underwater” by Alex Finn
  2. “On the Jellicoe Road” by Melina Marchetta
  3. “Twisted” by Laurie Halse Anderson
  4. “Five Flavors of Dumb” by Antony John
  5. “Deadline” by Mira Grant

5 random books I rated 3-stars:

  1. “Forever and the Night” by Linda Lael Miller
  2. “Timeless” by Alexandra Monir
  3. “The Child Thief” by Brom
  4. “Happy Ever After (The Bride Quartet #4) by Nora Roberts
  5. “White Crow” by Marcus Sedgewick

1 book I rated 1-star:  (Only one, and ye Gods I shutter remembering reading this book. I considered reading the sequel many times, but in the end, I decided I didn’t want to relive the experience of the first one. Another year I was lucky.)

“Swoon” by Nina Malkin

2012

Longest book: 609 pages (“Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6)” by Richelle Mead)

Shortest book: Not putting one because I know the Goodreads stats are wrong on this, as it only lists 1 page for an over 200 page anatomy/art book.

Total # of books read: 294 (Big reading jump this year)

Average book length: 279 pages

Average review rating: 3.2 stars

5 random books I rated 5 stars:

  1. “Teeth” by Hannah Moskowitz
  2. “The Rules of Survival” by Nancy Werlin
  3. “Hold Still” by Nina LaCour
  4. “Partials” by Dan Wells
  5. “Dirty” by Megan Hart

5 random books I rated 3 stars:

  1. “Torn” by  Stephanie Guerra
  2. “New Girl” by Paige Harbison
  3. “Kitty and the Midnight Hour (Kitty and the Midnight Hour #1)” by Carrie Vaughn
  4. “The Wish House” by Celia Rees
  5. “Pinned” by Sharon G. Flake

5 random books I rated 1-star:

 

  1. “League of Strays” by L.B. Schulman
  2. “Revealing Eden (Save the Pearls #1)” by Victoria Foyt
  3. “Anything He Wants” by Sara Fawkes
  4. “In Too Deep” by Amanda Grace
  5. “Breathe” by Sarah Crossan

2013

Longest book: 677 pages (“The Making of a Story” by Alice LaPlante)

Shortest book: around 17 pages, if memory serves (“Darkwing Duck: The Darkest Night” by Andrew Helfer – Goodreads is also wrong on the page count for this one, lol)

Total # of books read: 365 (My best reading year in a while)

Average book length: 264 pages

Average review rating: 2.9 stars (I wonder if this is because of the sheer number of books I read that year or if it’s because I read that many “meh” books.)

5 random books I rated 5 stars:

 

  1. “The Sky: The Art of Final Fantasy” by Yoshitaka Amano
  2. “Necessary Lies” by Diane Chamberlain
  3. “Shadowdance (Darkest London #4)” by Kristen Callihan
  4. “Unlimited” by Jillian Michaels
  5. “Vessel” by Sarah Beth Durst

5 random books I rated 3-stars:

  1. “The Favor” by Megan Hart
  2. “We Were Liars” by E. Lockhart
  3. “Dirty Little Secret” by Jennifer Echols
  4. “The Iron Witch” by Karen Mahoney
  5. “Deep Betrayal (Lies Beneath #2) by Anne Greenwood Brown

5 random books I rated 1-star: (I read a lot of New Adult this particular year, and remember many of them being disappointments.)

  1. “This Girl (Slammed #3) by Colleen Hoover
  2. “Elite (Eagle Elite #1) by Rachel Van Dyken
  3. “The Goodreads Killer” by Dave Franklin
  4. “Starseed” by Liz Gruder
  5. “Stolen Nights (Vampire Queen #2) by Rebecca Maizel

 

2014

Longest book: 555 pages (“Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn)

Shortest book: 5 pages (“Mrs. Maddox” by Jamie McGuire)

Total # of books read: 168

Average book length: 259 pages

Average review rating: 2.9 stars (Huh, same as the previous year.)

5 random books I rated 5 stars:

  1. “Thin Space” by Jody Casella
  2. “Hate List” by Jennifer Brown
  3. “Frenzy” by Robert Lettrick
  4. “Something Wicked This Way Comes” by Ray Bradbury
  5. “The Martian” by Andy Weir

5 random books I rated 3 stars:

  1. “Little Mercies” by Heather Gudenkauf
  2. “Minders” by Michele Jaffe
  3. “Breaking Nova (Breaking Nova #1)” by Jessica Sorensen
  4. “Never Have I Ever” by Katherine Heaney
  5. “The Nekkid Truth” by Nicole Camden

5 random books I rated 1-star:

  1. “Crazy Love” by Amir Abrams
  2. “Beautiful Oblivion (The Maddox Brothers #1)” by Jamie McGuire
  3. “Torn (Torn #1)” by K.A. Robinson
  4. “Push (Push #1)” by Claire Wallis
  5. “Why Cleaning Has Meaning” by Linda Thomas

 

2015

Longest book: 681 pages (“Glass (Crank #2)” by Ellen Hopkins)

Shortest book: 26 pages (“Authors Vs. Goodreads” by Zoe Desh)

Total # of books read: 109 (I’m pretty sure this number was higher for the total year, but that’s what’s listed on Goodreads.)

Average book length: 311 pages

Average review rating: 3.0 stars

5 random books I rated 5 stars:

  1. “Dare Me” by Megan Abbott
  2. “The Truth About Forever” by Sarah Dessen
  3. “The Summer of Chasing Mermaids” by Sarah Ockler
  4. “The Blue Haired Boy” by Courtney C. Stevens
  5. “Crank (Glass #2)” by Ellen Hopkins

 

5 random books I rated 3 stars:

  1. “99 Days” by Katie Cotugno
  2. “Thirteen Reasons Why” by Jay Asher
  3. “Red Queen (Red Queen #1)” by Victoria Aveyard
  4. “The Cage (The Cage #1)” by Megan Shepard
  5. “Rikki (Hart University #1)” by Abigail Strom

5 random books I rated 1-star:

  1. “Black Rainbow” by J.J. McAvoy
  2. “Manwhore (Manwhore #1)” by Katy Evans
  3. “Now and Forever” by Susane Colasanti
  4. “Kissing Ted Calihan” by Amy Spaulding
  5. “Go Set a Watchman” by Harper Lee

 

2016

Longest book: 835 pages (“A Game of Thrones” by George R.R. Martin)

Shortest book: 48 pages (“The Divine Guide to Creating A Daily Writing Practice” by Pernille Norregaard )

Total # of books read: 125

Average book length: 303 pages

Average review rating: 3.5 stars

5 random books I rated 5 stars:

  1. “What We Saw” by Aaron Hartzler
  2. “Art of He-Man and the Masters of the Universe” by Tim and Steve Seeley
  3. “The Pocket Book of Positives” by Anne Moreland
  4. “Emmy & Oliver” by Robin Benway
  5. “Archetype (Archetype #1)” by M.D. Waters

5 random books I rated 3 stars:

  1. “Kill the Boy Band” by Goldy Moldavsky
  2. “Lucky Linus” by Gene Gant
  3. “The Program (The Program #1)” by Susanne Young
  4. “The Guest Room” by Chris Bohjalian
  5. “Just What Kind of Mother Are You?” by Paula Daly

 

5 random books I rated 1-star: (Actually, there were only 5 this year, so random order)

  1. “The Last Good Girl (Anna Curtis #5)” by Allison Leotta
  2. “Firsts” by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn
  3. “The Anatomy of Jane” by Amelia LeFay
  4. “The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)” by Richelle Mead
  5. “Never, Never – Part 3” by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

That’s all for this entry.  Until next post, I hope everyone is having a great 2017 thus far and are in abundance of many wonderful reads.

Best,

Rose

Leave a Reply

