Review: So Tough to Tame (Jackson #3) by Victoria Dahl

Quick review for a quick read. I read this in a matter of hours, but all I really got out of this story was a “meh” read, unfortunately. Walker and Charlie definitely had chemistry and some fun flirtations in the mix (though there were some sensual scenes that made me cringe because they were awkward), but on the whole, I wasn’t really taken into this story very much even with the quirky personalities and side-characters this narrative had to offer.

Walker and Charlie respectively come from really difficult places, disgraced and fired from their jobs for former relationships that involved cheating with married spouses and nursing assumptions against their reputations. They were once childhood friends but grew apart and eventually reconciling as they work at the same ski resort in Jackson Hole. I could believe in Walker’s insecurities about his educational background/learning disability and his complicated relationship with his father and brother. I found it harder to believe Charlie’s particular conflict in the narrative, because it seemed to be one set of conspiracies/betrayals after another in a deliberate unfolding. Add to that a bit of a rushed ending for resolution to the conflicts, and you get me scratching my head wondering where both the time and the story went. At least it was a very fast read, but it’s not a story that would stick with me for much longer than the moment. “Too Hot To Handle” I thought was a much better offering in the Jackson series than this.

Overall score: 2/5 stars.

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher.

Leave a Reply

