Top Ten Tuesday: Throwback Entry – Ten Books I’ve Meant to Read

Hi all,  Rose here with another Top Ten Tuesday entry, as sponsored by The Broke and the Bookish.  This week had a freebie throwback prompt, so I decided to do a list of books that have been published in the past that I’ve meant to read, but somehow…haven’t.   My TBR list is ever-growing on a regular basis, and I have quite a backlog of ARCs that I’ve wanted to read, but unfortunately haven’t gotten around to just yet (but eventually will – I’m still in the process of updating the blog with both reviews and content, as well as continuing to tweak the layout. )

So in no particular order, here are a list of ten books that I really want to read that have been published prior to this year, but I haven’t gotten around to them yet:

nevernightcoverrose1. “Nevernight” by Jay Kristoff – I figure this ought to be the first on my list since I just bought the sequel “Godsgrave” from the bookstore today.  Everything about this series seems right up my alley and I’ve been so excited to read it, but I just haven’t gotten around to it.  I hope to be able to get to this series soon since I have both signed 1st edition hardcover copies of these respective books.  Can you say cover lust? Can you say that Jay Kristoff is made of awesomeness? (I say yes to both.)

lovelywildcoverrose

2. Lovely Wild by Megan Hart: I own this book even though I got it as a galley first from NetGalley.  I’ve picked up this book several times just to have to put it down – not because I didn’t like it, but because there were other things going on and I just decided to put it on hold for the time being.  I’m hoping to pick this back up within the next few weeks and finish it with a clear head (particularly since the times that I picked it up, I wasn’t able to focus because of a busy schedule).  I’ve always loved this cover though, and it has a lovely place on my bookshelf ready for me to grab when I’m ready to pick it up again.

steepandthornywaycoverrose3. “The Steep and Thorny Way” by Cat Winters – I had this book checked out from my library on an occasion or two, but the reason I had to put it down?  It was constantly on request and I couldn’t finish the book in time before I had to return it.  (Something that, sadly, has been the case for me the last several times I’ve gone to the library.)  So I ended up putting my foot down and I finally bought the book – in paperback.  Better late than never.  The cover of this is beautiful, the premise is intriguing, and I’m really looking forward to reading it.

4. The “Mirador” Series by Dan Wells – Dan Wells is one of my favorite authors, so it shames me to admit that I haven’t read allonesandzeroescoverrose of this teen cyberpunk series he’s written – starting with “Bluescreen” (which was published last year) and continuing with “Ones and Zeroes” (published earlier this year).  I own both books in hardcover and bought them the day they released.  Unfortunately – I’ve only read part of “Bluescreen” (which I loved from the first 100 or so pages I’ve read) and I haven’t started “Ones and Zeroes”.  I’m hoping to do a mini-book marathon of this series before the end of the year, but depends on time and how I want to organize my reading schedule between ARC releases.

reflectedinyoucoverrose5. “Reflected in You” (and the rest of the Crossfire series) by Sylvia Day – So I read “Bared to You” all the way back in 2012 and I found it a much better read to pursue than a certain other adult fiction/erotic series that was steamrolling in popularity at the time (*cough* Fifty Shades of Grey *cough*).  So why haven’t I picked the Crossfire up since that point?  It wasn’t for lack of interest – I originally thought it would be a trilogy, but then when I heard more books were coming out, I figured I’d wait until the series concluded before picking it up again.  And…yeah, I waited too long.  But I’m currently in the midst of reading “Reflected in You” and I plan to read the series in its entirety.  I love Sylvia Day’s writing, though there are some narratives she draws me into better than others.  We’ll see what happens with this particular one.

mooncalledcoverrose

6. The Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs – To my credit – I’ve already read the first two books in this series and really enjoyed them.  The bad news?  I never reviewed them, and I told myself I’d re-read and review them before continuing on with the series in its entirety.  I started checking them out of the library, but had to return them so I either bought what books were in the series or requested them as galleys from NetGalley.  I plan to do a book marathon of them and review them all on my blog when I have the opportunity.

acourtofthornsandrosescoverrose7. “A Court of Thorns and Roses” by Sarah J. Maas – So many people have told me (IRL and online) that “OMG, ROSE YOU HAVE TO READ THIS SERIES IT’S SO GOOD! ERMAHGARD! GAAAAAAAH!” (Or something close to that.)  In my defense, I wanted to wait until all three books in this series were released, and now that it’s the case – and I own all three of them – a read-a-thon is on like Donkey Kong.  I’ve been looking forward to it for a while too, so we’ll see what happens with this in the coming months.  Depends on my reading schedule as to when I’ll pick them up, though.

8. Just One Year by Gayle Forman: I enjoyed the first book in this series (still have to write a proper review justoneyearcoverrose

of that though – should be coming within the next few weeks as I’m picking it up to re-read this year), so it wasn’t even a question of whether I would pick up this book.  Unfortunately, this series got lost in the neverending TBR stack, and I completely couldn’t get it from my local library because the request list was in the double digits constantly.  So I put my dollar where my intent was and mass bought the series (novella included).  I will be marathoning this series and reviewing them in their entirety, just have to put it on my reading schedule.

9. Lying Out Loud by Kody Keplinger – My reason for not picking this up before now actually comes from me attempting to read it several times at one point…and then not being able to get into it.  (Which is unfortunate since I’ve enjoyed Keplinger’s work on many occasions. ) Nonetheless, I’m determined and will give it the time and attention it deserves.

10. “The Dark Tower” series by Stephen King – Even beyond noting the recent release of the movie, this is a series that I’ve wanted to revisit for some time and found a perfect inclination to do so.  The movie really wasn’t as bad as many of the reviews made it out to be, but I found it lacking because it was rushed and underdeveloped as all heck, something I think that could’ve been remedied if they adapted the book series to TV or in a miniseries format.  I’m excited to return to it, though.  I loved the first three books (I think I read the first one back in college), and I really want to complete it.  Just haven’t had the opportunity to do so because of ever-growing TBR reads.

That’s all for this entry.  Until next time, happy book journeys all.

Cheers,

Rose

One comment

Leave a Reply

