Review: The Confidence Code by Katty Kay and Claire Shipman

Quick review for a quick read. This is a rather eye-opening (though it really only skims the surface on such a complex topic) read in terms of women being in the workforce and the challenges they have to their confidence. Such challenges are explored in psychosocial and scientific context throughout this book, between cited academic studies, scientific data on the structure and function of male and female brains, personal narratives, and examinations into the corporate structure of Western society/women in leadership positions. I definitely recognized some things I’ve learned from Women Studies courses I’d taken during my undergrad years. There were also a few things that resonated with me as well being a working woman throughout the various roles that I’ve taken on (and admittedly, I saw shades of my own history of perfectionism in some of the stories from the women in this narrative). However, it presents a very limited view of some of these factors and I felt the narrative could’ve been better organized.

Overall score: 3/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

