Review: The Life-Changing Manga of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

Quick review for a quick read. I could say that my initial reaction upon finishing this book was “ERMAHGARD, THIS IS SO CUTE AND INFORMATIVE AND I CAN’T DEAL, AND KONMARI REALLY DOES LOOK LIKE A FAIRY! GAAAAAAAAAHHHH!”

But then that really would only scratch the surface of the amount of joy that I received from this book. It’s a cute story that takes many of the principles from Marie Kondo’s “The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up” and puts it in a story-based manga format. The illustrations in it are adorable, and the story was one I connected to very much. The manga focuses on the efforts of 29-year old Chiaki as a single woman who can’t seem to keep a boyfriend, works a busy job, and comes home to a house that’s…less than tidy. (Understatement.)

Chiaki really wants to learn how to tidy, so she googles resources to help her do so. In pops KonMari to save the day. Chiaki goes through each of the principles of the KonMari method, but at the same time finds herself connecting to the reasons why her life seems so chaotic. There’s even a something of a cute budding romance story in here. I’ll admit I had a big goofy grin on my face as I read through this (it’s a quick read, probably less than an hour if you read it in one sitting). It’s one I’m really glad I’ve added to my personal library, and I would recommend it for anyone who wants a cute and quick reference to a rather cool method of organization.

Overall score: 4.5/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

